Very insightful information from a clothier who understands the value and importance of networking. He’s compiled a great list of do’s and don’ts

The William Wilson Perspective

On Facebook alone, I get at least 60-70 requests per month to participate in events. I’d love to help everyone, but I’m limited by my schedule and commitments. For that reason, I typically tend to get involved with organizations that I know, or that involve my friends. You see, the secret to building a great event is the same as building a successful business. It’s the people around you. It’s your network. Many people do not know how to effectively network. I spend a considerable amount of time networking and building relationships, but I’m, by no means, a networking expert. But here are some mistakes I see a number of beginning, AND SEASONED, entrepreneurs and non-profits make.

1. Thinking networking is done after the “networking event”: The single biggest mistake I see people make is thinking that networking is another word for meeting people and exchanging business cards. Networking does…

View original post 815 more words

